jump to navigation

Oklahoma Memorial Marathon April 30, 2007

Posted by RegiVizz in Marathon, Running.
trackback

Yesterday I ran my first marathon.

Wow.  An incredible experience. 

The weather couldn’t have been better.  It was cool in the morning as we arrived for our 6:30 start, and although it warmed up, it never got too hot.  The announcer said that they estimated 5,000 people downtown for the event, so needless to say, it was crowded!  We ended up parking about a mile away from the start, and as we hit more traffic than expected, RAN that mile.  Consider it a warm-up I guess!

As we got closer to the start line, we lost sight of each other, and I just about panicked!  There was no way we would be able to find each other again in the crowd!  Luckily we were directed away from the main crowd of spectators in order to get to the starting line faster, so we were able to find each other in the smaller crowd. 

You could feel the excitement in the air and after the starting gun went off, I was so eager to get started that I basically jumped up and down in place for the 3 minutes it took for us to finally get moving! 

For the first half, we were staying pretty close to the 4:15 – 4:30 finish pace, and we felt extremely confident!

The first aid station at lucky mile 13 was our first stop.  I had a blister the size of my big toenail on the side of my big toe.  After a dollop of Vaseline and a couple of band-aids, we were off again.  At the half, 13.1 miles, we had run for 2:19:14.  I thought it was amazing how fast that time went.  Little did I know that the next 13.1 was going to take longer (and FEEL even longer!) than that!  Nordictwin (my running buddy, my rock, the one who conned encouraged me to do this) started getting a calf cramp around mile 14.  He stopped to the side and stretched it out and we were off again. 

From mile 14 until mile 17 we were running at “my” lake.  Now I see why it helps to run your course.  I got to the lake and hit my “zone”.  Unfortunately, Nordictwin’s calf was giving him some major problems about that time.  As we crossed the 25K mark (at 3:01:33) I was feeling pretty good.  We’d done a bit of walking, but not too terribly much.  We were diligently gulping PowerAde and water at every stop, sometimes grabbing a pretzel or two as well.  Many of the stops had orange quarters which really tasted great.

After mile 17, things slowed down quite a bit.  We stopped to stretch, and tried to spend a little time massaging the cramped up calf, but nothing seemed to help.  Committed to finishing, off we went to hobble across the finish line.  We pushed ourselves to run those last 9 blocks and ended up actually jogging across the finish line…instead of hobbling! 

Post race we gobbled down cheeseburgers, bananas, orange quarters and lots of water.  We hobbled the mile back to the car, ready to hit the ice bath and the full hour massages we had scheduled!

Next year we’ll be faster.

(yep.  you read that right.  next year.)   :-)

Comments»

1. lsabin - April 30, 2007

Nice job! Congratulations. It’s nice to run a familiar course. Was the race what you expected? It’s such a huge accomplishment, emotionally draining as well as physically challenging. Are you picking out some shorter fun races for the Summer?

2. Dave Fravel - April 30, 2007

Congratulations!!!!! I’m very impressed that you’re already talking about next year’s marathon – after my first one I didn’t want to even think about running.

3. Scott - April 30, 2007

Yay, great job! I’m jealous. I still have 159 days, 15 hours and seven minutes until the start of my first marathon… You must have had fun out there if you already want to do it again!

4. Keith Granger - April 30, 2007

Good job! Finishing your first marathon is one of those things that you’ll never forget. Congratulations!!

5. noelryan - May 1, 2007

Hey – well done!! You must have enjoyed if you are already planning the next one!!

6. zappoman - May 1, 2007

Congrats, Regina! Awesome!

7. Keith Granger - May 1, 2007

Just as a side note, among seasoned marathon runners it is considered good form to whine regularly about sore quads for at least a week after your event and, for at least a couple of days, you should only navigate stairs with a sort – of – backwards – sideways – tactic accompanied by a look of incomprehensible pain on your face.

We don’t want anyone to get the idea that running a marathon is easy!

8. RegiVizz - May 2, 2007

Thanks for the congratulations, All!
Keith: I’m doing my part with the whining…and then some! :-) Today was the first morning I didn’t groan while getting out of bed!

9. Karl McCracken - May 3, 2007

Congratulations – you’re one up on me. Sounds like it was a great race.

10. bettehall - May 30, 2007

Hi Regina, Great job!

I so wanted to run the OKC marathon, but things just didn’t work out. Guess I’ll run the Jenks Half-marathon instead.

A couple of my friends from Tulsa were there and said the atmosphere was indescribable.

11. Jo'V - September 6, 2007

Way to go!!! Like Dave Fravel said… after I finished my first marathon – thought I’d NEVER do it again! I did however… I ran again and again and again… it’s become my favorite thing to do. I love seeing such diversity at the marathons… different shapes and sizes, all ages and ethnicities. I love it when I get to see familiar faces at the races. I truly love it. So glad that I’m able to do it. Never thought that I (I was a 200 pounder my first race) could do it! Now I’m excited about all the races that I GET to run in! So glad that you’re looking forward to next year!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

