jump to navigation

Hello stranger! April 11, 2007

Posted by RegiVizz in Marathon, Marathon training, Running, Shoes.
trackback

I know, I know…I’ve been a slacker when it comes to updating my blog recently.  In the past several weeks I’ve spent very few days at home.  A trip to Reno/Tahoe area to visit my sister, which included a lovely run at the Kirkwood ski resort as well as some good “working out” time spent on the treadmill and elliptical (I love those things!).  It’s always fun to run in new places, see some new scenery and die from the lack of oxygen in the air!  Who knew that running at 7,800 feet would be so hard!  Okay, well I knew it would be harder, but man, I was sore for DAYS after a little 6 mile run!

After that trip, I headed out to Washington DC to see the cherry blossom trees in full bloom.  The trees weren’t the only thing blooming, my new relationship was as well!  ;-)  Besides the miles and miles of walking to see the sights, Chris took me on a run along some of the trails there in DC. 

Next stop was central Texas, and my friend Mark came along with me on a 4 mile run in the dark (it was 6 AM), cold (40 degrees) and wet (it was drizzling). 

So although I haven’t been getting in my daily training runs, and even fewer long training runs, I’m still feeling fairly good about the upcoming marathon which takes place in 18 days.  Eeek.  Only 18 days?!? 

Luckily my new shoes (Saucony ProGrid Hurricane 9) are broken in and feeling quite fine and I’m not having any problems with the top of my left foot anymore. 

18 days and counting down!

Comments»

1. Karl McCracken - April 11, 2007

Hi, and welcome back. We’ve missed you! 18 days. Think of it more in terms of hours, and it won’t seem quite so close ;-)

2. grinnbearit - April 11, 2007

Washington DC! You were in MY neck of the woods!! Well, i’m four miles south, but still!!

3. grinnbearit - April 11, 2007

wait – that was supposed to be “four hours” oops

4. Rahim Rahman - April 13, 2007

Welcome back! Hope the new relationship continues to blossom.

16 more days. Stay healthy!

5. vermeulenblog - April 14, 2007

Question for you. Love your blog. I teach Jr. High PE in CA, and I have my students in week 2 of couch to 5K from cool running. It’s amazing how much better they are becoming at running just from this small intervention. I had one student take off 3 minutes from his 16:00 mile time this week alone!

Any tips or places you can point me to for hydration during our 5K, scheduled for June 4th? I’m trying to set up stations along the way with water.

I used to run a bazillion years ago, and I’m doing the training with them, so I won’t be available to assist during the run. Any tips would help. I see you are a seasoned runner, so if you have any other blogs to point me to, that would be great.

vermeulenblog.wordpress

6. RegiVizz - April 16, 2007

Vermeulenblog: I would set up 2 water/first aid stations: the first at the 2 mile mark (about 3 km) and then one at the end. It’s always nice to have water/gatorade at the end and if possible, banana halves which are easy to digest and helpful replinishers. At the station set up on the course, all they need is a couple of gulps so don’t pour full cups. Too much and their stomachs may cramp!
Some suggest water stations every mile, but with a 5K, I think that’s overkill!
Check out the American Running Associaton’s site on planning a race. They’ll have things you may not have thought about!
Anyone else have suggestions?

7. lsabin - April 18, 2007

I’ve ran in Tahoe, both along the edge of the lake and on the rim. I was there in 1997 and did some training, during a Summer vacation. I was amazed at how difficult it is to run at 7,000 feet and then the rim is another 2,000 give or take. Your legs feel like lead! They have a marathon and half-marathon there. I would love to do the half-marathon if it weren’t for the elevation.

Good luck in your marathon. You are almost there!

8. vermeulenblog - April 20, 2007

Thanks Regivizz!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

